calendarnewsabout usmediapresslearningnetworkcontact














CHROMA photos are available for download from Flickr. CHROMA GALLERY

by Philip Cashian
Live at the Picture Gallery, RHUL 18 March 2016
clarinet Stuart King
bassoon Helen Storey
horn Richard Bayliss
violin Daniel Pioro
violin Charlotte Bonneton
viola David Aspin
cello Zoe Martlew
bass Elena Hull


1 - The Lonesome Fiddler by Dave Le Page

2 - Shenandoah arr. by Clare O'Connell

Violin - Dave Le Page
Cello - Clare O'Connell
Double-bass - Elena Hull
Bass-baritone - Joseph Padfield

A celebration of traditional, folk and bluegrass from the vast continent of America - featuring the luxurious sounds of violin cello and bass with the rich velvety tones of the bass-baritone voice.

AVAILABLE TO TOUR in 2016 - please contact us for details












Live at LICA, Lancaster
3 November 2011

Marcus Barcham-Stevens - Dhyana (CHROMA commission)

David Bruce -
The North Wind Was A Woman

conducted by Christopher Austin with soprano Joanna Songi
and Avi Avital on mandolin

Sarah O'Flynn (flutes), Stuart King, Massimo di Trolio (clarinets), Helen Sharp (harp), Owen Dennis (oboe), Steve Gibson (percussion), Alexandra Wood, Anna Biggin (violins), Carmen Flors (viola), Clare O'Connell (cello), Elena Hull (bass)



Shoreditch Church
20 June 2011
live at Spitalfields Festival

recorded by BBC Radio 3 for Hear and Now

Rolf Hind - Sit Stand Walk (world premiere, Spitalfields Festival commission) with Stuart King on solo clarinet

conductor Tim Murray
Anna Noakes (flutes), Emma Feilding (oboe), Stuart King, Andy Harper (clarinet)
Emma Harding (bassoon), Evgeny Chebykin (horn), Heidi Sutcliffe (trumpet), Neill Hadden (trombone) Steve Gibson (percussion), Leon Michener (piano) Florence Cooke, Anna Biggin (violins) Oli Wilson (viola), Clare O'Connell, Sophie Harris (cellos), Elena Hull (bass), Ian Watson (accordion), Helen Sharp (harp /whirly tube)


Tête à Tête presents
(world premiere Riverside Studios 17 August 2013)
Music: Kerry Andrew
Words: Tamsin Collison
Winner - Stage Work - British Composer Awards 2014

Director: Bill Bankes-Jones
Designer: Tim Meacock
Music Director: Timothy Burke
Swimmer: Grant Doyle
Girlfriend: Claire Wild
River Dart 1: Rebecca Askew
River Dart 2: Rebecca Thorn
River Dart 3: Hazel Holder

CHROMA: Stewart French (guitar), Stuart King (clarinet), Steve Gibson (percussion) Repetiteur/Band Pianist: Ian Ryan


Aldeburgh Music/Royal Opera House/Opera North present

Inspired by Britten's English Opera Group, which did so much to promote new opera, these are the first commissions from a new opera-producing partnership between Aldeburgh Music, Royal Opera House and Opera North designed to boost opportunities for emerging opera writers, bringing new work to audiences across the country.

Annabel Arden director
Joanna Parker set & costume designer
Richard Baker conductor
with singers Anna Dennis, Daniel Norman, William Purefoy, Andri Björn Róbertsson, Suzanne Shakespeare and the CHROMA ensemble

Café Kafka (world premiere Aldeburgh 14 March 2014)
Francisco Coll music
Meredith Oakes words

CHROMA: Flute/piccolo - Julian Sperry Clarinet - Stuart King Contra-bassoon - Claire Wadsworth Trombone - Graham Lee Percussion - Gregory Knowles Piano - John-Paul Gandy Violin - Daniel Pioro Viola - Oliver Wilson Cello - Zoë Martlew Double-bass - Elena Hull

The Commission (world premiere Aldeburgh 14 March 2014)
Elspeth Brooke music
Jack Underwood words

CHROMA: Clarinet/bass clarinet- Stuart King Trombone - Graham Lee Percussion - Gregory Knowles Cello – Zoë Martlew Double-bass - Elena Hull Mandolin - Daniel Thomas Accordion - Ian Watson

twitter soundcloud flickr facebook   registered charity no: 1135431
all content© CHROMA 2002-2016