calendarnewsabout usmediapresslearningnetworkcontact

"the ever-admirable CHROMA"
Stephen Pritchard, The Observer

"the exemplary CHROMA"
Rian Evans, The Guardian

Associate Ensemble Tête à Tête opera company
Ensemble-in-Residence at Royal Holloway University of London

Founded in 1997, CHROMA is a collective of 20 musicians dedicated both to new music and to revisiting classic repertoire in fresh and exciting contexts, and involving audiences in compelling, inspirational experiences.

Associate Ensemble for Tête à Tête: which includes developing new work through Tête à Tête: The Opera Festival, recently Kerry Andrew/Tamsin Collison Dart's Love (winner Best Stage Work British Composer Awards 2014), Laurence Obsorn/Theo Merz April in the Amazon and Lucie Treacher/Joanne Harris Moonlight in double bill with Na'ama Zisser/Stella Duffy The Last Seed.

Mahogany Opera Group: premiere tour of David Bruce's Firework Maker's Daughter (Hull Truck pemiere, then ROH Linbury and UK tour - nominated Olivier Awards 2014); in 2014 Gloria - A Pig's Tale by HK Gruber (UK tour including ROH Linbury, and Bregenz Festival)

ROH Linbury
: premieres of operas Philip Venables' 4.48 Psychosis (ROH at Lyric Hammersmith) Elspeth Brooke The Commission, Francisco Coll Café Kafka (Aldeburgh/ROH/Opera North co-production) Luke Bedford Through His Teeth Søren Nils Eichberg Glare Tarik O'Regan Heart of Darkness (ROH2/Opera East) and Stewart Copeland & Anne Dudley (ROH2 operashots)
Ballet - Will Tuckett's Wind in The Willows (ROH2 Linbury 2012/in the West End at the Duchess Theatre 2013/14 and Vaudeville Theatre 2014/15 - winner Best Entertainment Olivier Awards 2014).

Other new works
Recent CHROMA commissions include Luke Bedford Falling Falling, David Gorton Burgh Castle, Michael Nyman chromattic, Leonardo Margutti Cochlear Short, Claudia Molitor 8+7=, Raymond Yiu Les Etoiles au Front (shortlisted British Composer Awards 2012) and Michael Zev Gordon Glass Mountain.

Other recent premieres include Anna Meredith Railgun (Norfolk and Norwich Music Club) Rolf Hind Sit Stand Walk (Spitalfields Festival), Joe Cutler Chanticleer and the Opera Fox with Roderick Williams (Little Missenden Festival - shortlisted British Composer Awards 2012).

CHROMA has ongoing programmes of work with student composers at Royal Holloway University of London, Royal Academy of Music and Oxford University. It also runs an annual programme in seven primary schools in Norwich.

CHROMA trustees:
Diana Barcham-Stevens
Philip Cashian
Julian Francis
Michael Prattis
Roger Rowe

CHROMA is a non-incorporated association and registered charity no 1135431
VAT registered no 991 5285 83

correspondence address:
25 Gun Wharf
130 Wapping High Street
London E1W 2NH

Artistic Director
Stuart King

Claire Shovelton

Marcus Barcham-Stevens
Emily Davis
David Le Page
Daniel Pioro

David Aspin

Clare O'Connell

Double Bass
Elena Hull

Sarah O'Flynn

Emma Feilding

Stuart King


Evgeny Chebykin

Heidi Bennett

Ryan Hume

Edd Leech


Roderick Chadwick
Martin Cousin

Steve Gibson

Helen Sharp

Ian Watson

Stewart French

twitter soundcloud flickr facebook   registered charity no: 1135431
all content© CHROMA 2002-2016